Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

New guy going from real to airsoft. These laws are confusing.

:

Newbie Tank

Old February 29th, 2012, 13:50   #1
bubblewhip

New guy going from real to airsoft. These laws are confusing.

So I'm new to the airsoft field and I'm comming off from someone who is more interested in using real firearms than airsoft or BB. But the cost of ammo is really expensive so I started looking at airsoft as a solution. I started brushing through the laws in your faq here, and some other posts here, and where is what i found.

For the sake of argument I am going to use two firearms you can purchase legally in Canada that is very tactical looking.

IMI TAVOR
.223 caliber
10 round Magazine

Kel Tec SU-22
.22 LR Caliber
27 (I think) Magazine

Importing:
Airsoft: You basically cannot import and airsoft gun that resembles anything like a real gun, even if it was under legal velocity, chances are that it has a very high chance of being seized by customs for at least forensic testing byt the RCMP

Real Guns: At least afik from the US, you simply import your firearm either through airport security (by you physically crossing the border) and with the required paperwork. So long as everything is under legal requirements you are clear. (paperwork may have changed from killing the long gun registry)

Difference: You can legally import a real gun much more easily than the airsoft gun of the same model (infact you cannot import the airsoft gun at all)

Messed up level: Pretty messed up

Ownership:

airsoft: You cannot own anything resembling the real gun

real guns: You can own the real gun that is illegal in airsoft, even with a 27 round magazine or a 16 round pump action 12 gauge