Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

importing parts vs paying the inflated fees at shops

:

Newbie Tank

Old October 12th, 2012, 21:10   #1
Caelum

importing parts vs paying the inflated fees at shops

I apologize if this is in the wrong place, or if I am breaking any rules by asking about this here, but I am looking at buying a PGC slide (this one: http://shop.ehobbyasia.com/pgc-cnc-g...g17-black.html). I can either buy it in person from my local shop for 120$ plus tax, or order it in from over seas, paying 8$ or 25$ on shipping (for 10-20 day or 3-5 days), then the taxes and duty for importing.

I'm wondering what the better deal is. This is my first time possibly importing and ordering from ehobby/ overseas, so I don't know how much duty or taxes will be. Does anyone have any experience/ advice with this?

Either way I would be ordering the necessary springs and rods from ehobby or redwolf for the slide, would it be more cost efficient just to buy all at once?
Caelum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 21:21   #2
redzaku

i would say buy in country, support your local dealers and keep Canada's economy running
За Родину!
BRRRRRT!
redzaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 21:26   #3
scubasteve

I usually try and support the local retailers. But once in awhile I'll dip into the Asian market. IF you had to choose between ehobby and redwolf I'd go with ehobby.
scubasteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 21:30   #4
jordan7831
will always be Mike Litoris in our hearts

Buy overseas. Im all for supporting our canadian stores but 120 + tax is highway robery if we are talking about the SAME product.

$70 + $25 3day shipping = $95 total cost. This is still 30 bucks cheaper than a local hobby store. If you got the cheap $8 shipping your cost is $78 which is 42 cheaper than the store.