Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Tippmann XT800 (XM8) Flashlight Mod

:

Upgrades & Modifications

Old July 4th, 2006, 17:28   #1
Egon Spengler

Tippmann XT800 (XM8) Flashlight Mod

Hey, folks. I'm new to Airsoft, but I figured I'd throw in my first mod for kicks.

Sorry about the large files, but I wanted to give you enough detail to see what I'd done.

First off, I purchased a 5 LED "tactical" flashlight from Princess Auto. This thing was under $10.

The flashlight is about 6" long. It's like the Inova X5 Tactical LED Flashlight.

I took it to my next door neighbour, who is a machinist. He reduced it to an overall length of 2" at the LED end. He put a 1/4" tapped hole in, with a machine cap screw and a lockwasher.

I drilled a 1/4" hole at the nose of my gun, a 5/16" hole for the activator button (from The Source/RadioShack), and a 7/16" hole for the power connector. I soldered a wire to the centre contact on the flashlight for positive, and used the body for negative (which is how the body of the original acted). I wired a simple switched circuit, and mounted the items.

The activator is on the left side of the gun (I'm a righty), in the pseudo-rail mount areas. The power connector is on the right side. The batteries are in a velcro-secured pack on the bottom of the nose of the gun - I can remove the pack if we are doing daylight games.

I've removed the mock scope from it, and am going to put a weaver-type rail (again, my machinist buddy will assist) on the top of the gun. He's eventually going to make a triple weaver mount where the mock scope used to be. I have a Tasco BKRD30 red dot to go on later this week. Wish me luck.

-Egon
Attached Images
File Type: jpg XT800_1.jpg (291.1 KB, 92 views)
File Type: jpg XT800_2.jpg (253.2 KB, 49 views)
File Type: jpg XT800_3.jpg (267.5 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg XT800_4.jpg (257.1 KB, 43 views)